Washington, D.C. Cherry Blossoms and Tidal Basin

Yesterday, I drove into Washington, D.C. at the break of dawn so that I could be at the Tidal Basin at sunrise. I was not the only one. In fact, I saw people from all around the world.

Although the cherry blossoms were slightly past peak, it was still a glorious sight.

Here are a few photos, of the cherry blossoms and the memorials around the Tidal Basin.

A bonus was that the Jefferson Memorial was still decorated with wreaths to commemorate Thomas Jefferson’s birthday (the day prior).

Two tips:

  1. renting a paddle boat on the Tidal Basin is an amazing way to see cherry trees and avoid the crowds.
  2. surrounding areas also have incredible cherry blossom displays. Perhaps the best neighborhood is Kenwood, Maryland.

Have you seen cherry blossoms anywhere in the world?

NOTE: As much as I wish I was compensated by the companies mentioned in this article, I am NOT.

Previous McCool Travel post ====> Twitter Friday Fun: #FriFotos

Please follow me on Facebook, TwitterLinkedInPinterestKlout,  StumbleUpon, and Instagram.

© 2014, Charles McCool

2 thoughts on “Washington, D.C. Cherry Blossoms and Tidal Basin

  1. Pingback: Save Money on Lodging With University Rates | McCool Travel

  2. Pingback: Who Wears It Better? Seattle versus Washington, D.C. | McCool Travel

Leave a comment