Travel Bucket List – Foolish or Inspiring?

Lately there seems to be a sudden uptick in travel bucket list posts. Just type “travel bucket list” into Google and see over 5 million web entries; only 285K if you put quotes around it.

If you are reading this with the expectation of reading my travel bucket list, then turn your vehicle around and head for the next travel blog post.

You see, I have not compiled my travel bucket list. ::gasp::

Long ago I wrote down that I wanted to visit all 7 continents and more than 100 countries. That was when I created a top ten list of things I wanted to do in my lifetime. Those were the only travel items on my list.

Instead, when I do have the chance to travel, I simply pick destinations based on many factors. Do I feel like going to a familiar or new place? Road trip or single destination? Strict budget or not?

I kind of want to visit everything and everywhere.

When I travel, I often visit places I have not been to or even heard of. I do things I have not done.

So, how would I know to put them on a to-do list?

The travel bucket list phenomena is intriguing, though.

Do you have a travel bucket list? Is it full of places, activities, or both? When you complete an item do you replace it with another?

I developed a simple theory on my road trip last week. Without any deep thought or research I will throw this idea out here to the world:

– in our 20s, our philosophy is Carpe Diem

– in our 30s, our philosophy is No Regrets or Just Do It

– in our 40s, our philosophy is Life Is Good

– afterward, as in the movie with Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson, we create bucket lists.

Yes, I know that many younger people have bucket lists. My theory is that it is not really a bucket list but more of a Carpe Diem list; that is, “I want to see everything.”

Even though I am in the Life Is Good category, my travel list is still Carpe Diem. I will have to think about that one.

What do you think about bucket lists? I would love to see your comments.

You can contact me directly by email (CharlesMcCool -at- gmail -dot- com).

For frequent travel deals, follow me on Facebook (McCool Travel) and Twitter (@CharlesMcCool). You can also follow me on PinterestKlout, and StumbleUpon.

© 2012, Charles McCool

4 thoughts on “Travel Bucket List – Foolish or Inspiring?

  1. Pingback: Travel Gift Registry | McCool Travel

  2. Pingback: Washington D.C. Cherry Blossoms – An Alternative! | McCool Travel

Leave a comment