Travel Tip: Fun Lodging at Shady Dell, Bisbee, Arizona

People sometimes ask me, “What is the best place you have stayed?”

It is difficult to pick the best place–or for that matter, the best meal, event, adventure, etc.

However, one of the most unique and memorable places I stayed was the Shady Dell in Bisbee, Arizona. This place is fantastic.

Shady Dell is so much more than just a place to stay. It offers nine vintage trailers from the 1940s and 1950s–all fully restored and authentically furnished. Staying at Shady Dell is like stepping back into the 1950s, as you can see from my pictures.

A couple of years ago I visited Shady Dell and was fortunate to stay in their vintage 1949 restored Airstream trailer.

Instead of a window or maybe a balcony, I had this lovely courtyard with fake plastic grass. Somehow that was just perfect.

I rocked out with some 45s from the 1950s. The instruction sheet.

Below are pictures of some of the other Shady Dell trailers.

You can check availability and rates on one convenient chart.

Below are some other pictures from the Shady Dell property.

This instruction sheet was in the laundry room. I am so glad there was no atomic attack during my visit.

Dot’s Diner was built in the 1950s and served as a diner in Los Angeles. Now it serves Bisbee residents and visitors. Dot’s was packed for breakfast.

That’s an old phone. No Q or Z.

Hard to say which incredible trailer I would select next time. If I am by myself, I might select the 1952 Homemade at only $55 a night. The 1947 boat or the 1947 Tiki Bus seem like the most unusual and fun.

Charles McCool is an independent consumer travel advocate.

For frequent travel deals, follow me on Facebook (McCool Travel) and Twitter (@CharlesMcCool).

© 2011, Charles McCool

4 thoughts on “Travel Tip: Fun Lodging at Shady Dell, Bisbee, Arizona

  1. A trip down memory lane, indeed! Love this. For some reason, I am suddenly smitten with vintage Airstream trailers. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Well, this is your place if you are near Bisbee, Arizona. There must be other places with nostalgic aluminum trailers. Related but not, one of the gals from B-52s runs a kitschy inn, I think in the Poconos.

      Like

Leave a comment