Road Trip Travel: Summer Foods

Some road trip travel recollections from summer 2013.

In picture form:

IMG_9063

fresh biscuit, West End Bakery, West Asheville, NC

This biscuit was practically a meal in itself, but, of course, I also bought some kind of baked good. If I remember correctly, lunch was light that day.

IMG_8997

Wine and Snacks, Arrington Vineyards, Arrington, TN

Loved this setting. You can see the view from the swing here. I bought a bottle of wine and had a glass with my own snacks. attn Vineyard Owners: more vineyards should have swings like this.

IMG_8946

Jack’s BBQ, Nashville, TN

The three meat platter from Jack’s BBQ in Nashville. Yum! What I remember is that Jack’s had the best sauces I remember from any BBQ joint. A couple of other pictures of Jack’s are here.

IMG_8609

tropical drink in OBX, Duck, NC

IMG_8624

tropical drink in OBX, Duck, NC

IMG_8770

refreshing Stewart’s Key Lime Soda.

Great summer drink. I try to have one (and only one) of these each summer. I leisurely sipped this drink in the peaceful courtyard of the Portrait Gallery in Washington, DC.

IMG_8818

Due South BBQ, Christiansburg, VA

The food is wonderful but I liked this picture of the sauce containers.

IMG_8825

ice cream, Gardner’s, Christiansburg, VA

Not the best ice cream I had this summer–but the best ice cream I had that day!

IMG_8885

sausage biscuit, Daylight Donuts, Cleveland, TN

I learned that grape jelly is the acceptable topping for sausage biscuits. Who knew? I certainly did not. I love learning new things, especially about authentic food.

IMG_8930

Taqueria Albertos, McMinnville, TN

These may have been the best tacos I have had outside of California. That is saying a whole bunch because I love tacos! Get this–they were only 99 cents each. Honestly, I would plan another road trip just to visit this food truck again.

IMG_9091

lobster roll, Leominster, MA

I had a few lobster dishes this summer but this is the only picture I could find.

IMG_9092

incredible ice cream, Cherry Hill, Lunenburg, MA

My go to flavor from Cherry Hill is the chocolate peanut butter cookie dough. BEST flavor I have ever had. I got a Small size. The other two are Kiddie sized. This place has huge servings.

IMG_9098

more ice cream, Cherry Hill, Lunenburg, MA

On another trip to Cherry Hill, I tried the Black and Tan flavor. Chocolate peanut butter cookie dough is still my favorite but it is worth trying other flavors. You know, just to confirm.

IMG_9153

Lost Creek Winery, Leesburg, VA

Another winery visit, another “trying to be artistic” picture. How did I do?

IMG_9024

sinful eclair, Donut Friar, Gatlinburg, TN

Second eclair I have had from Donut Friar. Seeing this picture will trigger some stomach rumbling dreams. This would be in my top 5 eclairs in the USA–but note that I have not tried them ALL (on my list!).

This is only a fraction of the wonderful regional items I found this summer and only a fraction of the food and drink pictures I did take. I did not take pictures of everything!

Previous McCool Travel post ====> Road Trip Travel: Eastern Tennessee Part 3

For frequent travel deals, follow me on Facebook (McCool Travel) and Twitter (@CharlesMcCool). You can also follow me on LinkedInPinterestKlout,  StumbleUpon, and Instagram.

© 2013, Charles McCool

2 thoughts on “Road Trip Travel: Summer Foods

  1. Pingback: Travel Tip: 3 Hour Airport Stopover, Boston | McCool Travel

  2. Pingback: Ace Biscuit and Barbecue, Charlottesville, Virginia | McCool Travel

Leave a Reply

