Favorite Annual Travel Deals

Some travel deals predictably occur around the same time each year.

One is Cunard’s transatlantic crossing starting at $999 (per person). I remember this deal being offered since the early 1990s. McCool Travel Tip: Interestingly, even though Cunard advertises rates starting at $999, they are currently selling cabins for $849 (per person).

My favorite annual travel deal is the rental car exodus from Florida. It is one of my stealthy rental car maneuvers.

Every winter, rental car companies need extra cars in Florida. In fact, National Car Rental currently is renting cars from NYC to Florida for $40 a day ($50 for mini vans).

Subsequently, every spring, rental car companies disperse the cars from Florida to East coast destinations. While I have seen rates as low as $1 a day, I usually pay $5 a day to $100 a week.

For that low rate, I pick up a rental car from a Florida location (usually Ft. Lauderdale or Orlando) and return it to a location near my house in Northern Virginia. McCool Travel power user tip: I have even returned a one-way rental to a local (non-airport) location.

To get to Florida, I buy an inexpensive one-way flight.

I have participated in this program a few times and look forward to doing it each spring. The one-way deals are usually valid from late March through mid June.

Although the rental car companies have not yet announced their Florida one-way drive-out programs, news should be arriving soon.

Here are places to look for their specials: Avis, Hertz, National.

Bonus: I am even able to use other discount programs with these great deals. For instance, with Hertz, I get a 15% discount with my AAA membership. With National, I can select any available car from their inventory.

Previous McCool Travel post ====> 8 Great Ways to Find Free Lodging for Travel

For frequent travel deals, follow me on Facebook (McCool Travel) and Twitter (@CharlesMcCool). You can also follow me on LinkedInPinterestKlout, and StumbleUpon.

© 2013, Charles McCool

Leave a Reply

