Boston Teaser – Day Trip With JetBlue AYCJ Pass

After yesterday’s friendly and efficient New York City transportation, I had high hopes for the same in Boston. I was disappointed. Boston transportation is more frustrating than NYCs. I had lunch with my niece who said that people in Boston walk everywhere rather than taking the T. Boston is so much smaller than NYC so this makes more sense.

The frustration started with the complimentary bus from Logan airport to the Blue line station. Several other buses, including three airport employee buses (with no one getting on or off), teased the two dozen persons waiting for the privilege of trying to get to the T.

The bus that eventually came was dirty and leaked from the ceiling even though it was not raining. The driver decided to take a five minute break at the next terminal stop. It was not to wait for passengers as no more got on.

The T ticket buying process was fine and the signs are clear but the train waits were too long. I had hopes of making it to a 11am Fenway Park tour but I did not get to the Kenmore stop until 11:15 (my plane arrived at 10:25). I bought a ticket for a later tour and decided it would be quicker to walk across town for lunch. My niece said that is what most people do.

The Boston T trains are older, dirtier and noisier than NY subway trains. If they were not so inefficient they might be considered more fun. The prices are about the same. I was told that each ride costs $1.70 but my $5 Charlie card had $1 left after two trips. I gave the card to a resident that was on the return airport bus trip. At least when waiting for the return bus I could watch the soccer games on the adjacent field.

There is another option for leaving Boston’s Logan airport. A Silver line bus goes to South Station. I would have had to do a double transfer to Kenmore but wonder if it would have taken less time. It would be a good test for two persons to try.

As for Boston to-dos, I did much walking. I walked around Fenway Park and to the area around the Prudential Building. I had lunch at a Boloco and then walked back to Fenway via the Fine Arts Museum, the Back Bay Fens, some of the smaller colleges and neighborhoods.

The Bleacher Bar is actually inside Fenway Park and offers views of the field from the eating/drinking areas and the bathroom. Superb!

After the Fenway Park tour, I walked up Commonwealth Avenue, through the Boston Common, Old Granary Burial Ground (burial sites of John Hancock, Paul Revere and many more) ending at Faneuil Hall. There I had a touristy and overpriced bowl of clam chowder and a lobster roll before catching the T Blue line back to the airport.

As with my previous post, I welcome suggestions for places to visit and eat. On my next trip, I intend to visit Cambridge and North End.

© 2010 Charles McCool

2 thoughts on “Boston Teaser – Day Trip With JetBlue AYCJ Pass

  1. Pingback: McCool Travel: 2011 Resolutions (Part 1) « McCool Travel

  2. Pingback: Window Shopping for Travel Deals « McCool Travel

Leave a Reply

